Committee Chairperson Conference (Gremienvorsitzendenkonferenz, GVK)

The Committee Chairperson Conference (Gremienvorsitzendenkonferenz, GVK) makes selection decisions in assigning platforms and allocating wireless transmission capacities for private providers.

The GVK also advises on matters which are significant to (media) society, media policy, and the cooperation between the state media authorities. This particularly involves questions of programme development and media ethics positions, for example on the quality of broadcasting content with respect to the norms and values of our society.

As a result, together with representatives of private television stations and producers, the GVK has devised guidelines for labelling scripted-reality formats. Private broadcasters have implemented these on a voluntary basis since 2015, as they are not legally obligated to do so.

The GVK meets 3-4 times a year as well as twice together with the DLM at the full conference. As of 2009, members meet once a year with the ARD committee chairpersons for a joint conversation on current media policy or technological developments which affect both sides of the dual broadcasting system.



In the Committee Chairperson Conference, the respective chairpersons of the 14 state media authority committees work together.

The committees are called assembly, media council, or media commission and are comprised of representatives of social groups (parties, religious communities, associations, and organisations such as child protection agencies, welfare organisations, business associations) – or media experts.
The members perform their work on a voluntary basis. They fulfil a central function, as they make decisions in local and state matters, and generally also elect the director or president of the respective state media authority.

The GVK elects a representative from its members. Since 1 January 2018, Prof Dr Werner Schwaderlapp, media commission representative of the State Media Authority of North Rhine-Westphalia (Landesanstalt für Medien NRW, has held this position.
His deputy is Albrecht Bähr, assembly representative of the State Media Authority of Rhineland-Palatinate (Landeszentrale für Medien und Kommunikation Rheinland-Pfalz, LMK).


Professor Werner Schwaderlapp

Prof. Dr. Werner Schwaderlapp

Vorsitzender der Medienkommission der Landesanstalt für Medien NRW


Joint Management Office Karsten Meyer

die medienanstalten - ALM GbR Friedrichstraße 60 10117 Berlin

+49 30 2064690-0
+49 30 2064690-99